The Journal of Scientific Research

(A Journal of the Department of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Facuty of Science, University of Maiduguri, PMB, 1069, Maiduguri, Borno State)

The Journal of Scientific Research stands as a formidable pillar in the realm of scientific literature, embracing a multidisciplinary approach to propel organized knowledge forward, particularly within the domain of Chemistry and its related fields. As a peer-reviewed international scientific journal, its resolute commitment is to disseminate ground-breaking research that spans the entire spectrum of chemistry, from the fundamental principles of Pure Chemistry to the real-world applications of Applied Chemistry. In this article, we delve into the rich tapestry of this prestigious publication, exploring its scope, objectives, and the dedicated team that makes it all possible.


With the establishment of the University of Maiduguri in April 1975, the Department of Pure and

Applied Chemistry started at the former site of the NECAS building and all the assets of the Department then under NECAS were converted to the Department of Chemistry. After the

inception of the Department in1976/77, syllabi were collected from first generation Universities

(ABU, Ibadan, Nsukka and Lagos). These were used to develop the first degree programme.

These have been modified several times with new courses added and some merged. This was to meet the anticipation of the Department as manpower source and for semester and Senate requirement. Based on the approval of B.Sc. (Hons.) Industrial Chemistry and B.Sc. (Hons.) Petroleum Chemistry programmes by the Senate of the University on 31st October, 2019, the

name of Department was changed from Department of Chemistry to Department of Pure and

Applied Chemistry by the senate of the University.

The Department had Dr. M. B. Ahmed {later a Professor (late), May His Soul Rest in Perfect

Peace} as its first Acting Head of Department (1976 – 1979). Professor M. G. Girgis took over

as the Head of Department in 1979/80 and subsequently Professor M. U. Sultanbawa was

appointed the Head of Department, August 1980 to 1985. Thereafter, Professor M. B. Ahmed

became the Head of the Department from 1985 to 1998. Following the death of Professor M. B.

Ahmed on April 26th 1998, Dr. V. O. Ogugbuaja became the Head of Department from 1998 to

  1. By January 2002, Hajja Fanna I. Abdulrahman was appointed acting Head of Department,

and by 2004 she was elected Head of Department for eight years (2004-2012). Dr. B. G. Kolo

was elected Head of Department between July 2013, to August 2016, Dr. Joseph C. Akan took

the mantle of leadership as elected Head of Department from 2016 to 2021. Currently, Mustapha

  1. Tijjani is the Head of Department with effect from April 2021.

The teaching responsibilities of the Department were B.Sc. (Chemistry) as well as other

chemistry aspects of science foundation courses and the remedial science course. Some of the

faculties the Department renders services to include Science, Agriculture, Medical College,

Engineering, Education and Veterinary medicine.

The Department produced its first batch of graduates in 1980/81 Session. on 11th August 2021,

two new Postgraduate programs of M.Sc. Petroleum Chemistry and Ph.D. Industrial Chemistry

were introduced. Also, M.Sc. Environmental Chemistry and pollution control was introduced in

February 2022. With the constant efforts of the University Administration to improve the staff

situation, since the inception of the Department, staff strength has shown a significant progress in

terms of qualification and area of specialization. With this number of staff in all areas of

specialization, the Department has continued to discharge her functions with full dedication due

to the extended cooperation existing among staff.